QR Codes for Real Estate

It’s late and I’m sitting on the couch thinking about QR Codes. My broker asked me to say a few words about them in a real estate context at Coldwell Banker ONE’s monthly business meeting.

I’m still a beginner with QR Codes but nothing makes you learn something like having to talk about it for ten minutes or so. What I’ve found is that there are basically two parts to this. A QR scanner/reader for your smartphone and a QR Code generator which you access via the web.

The scanner/reader is the easy part. I use an android phone so all I did was search in the android market and found QRDroid, it’s free and I’ve been very happy with it. I am sure there is an Iphone version or something similar in the app store.

The other part of this is deciding what you want your code to do and then generating the code. For this example, let’s say you want to drive potential homebuyers to a custom website for one of your listings. I am going to assume you already have the single listing website then just copy the URL of the site into the box on goo.gl , this step will allow you to track how many users have used the QR Code.

Next take the link that is generated and enter it into the url box on qrick.it and generate your code. From there you can print, email, save it as a .jpg and other things as well. Now anytime anyone uses the code you will be able to track it on the goo.gl site. You can take this much further but this is the short version.

About saporitorealtor

I am a Realtor working in south Louisiana to help my clients with their real estate investments. Whether it's buying, selling or building a portfolio of investment properties, I will advise you every step of the way. Coldwell Banker One 5025 Bluebonnet Blvd. Baton Rouge, LA 70809 225-925-2500 or 225-335-5970 ssaporito@coldwellbankerone.com www.scottsaporito.com
This entry was posted in Real Estate, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to QR Codes for Real Estate

Leave a Reply

